Paris eating for at least 10 for one

Posted on Updated on

Image

When I was little, I lived across from l’Alliance Française and took french classes, picturing myself as some kindof madeline. We used to drive up to Montreal and I’d be able to fake some frenchiness. I’ve been a francophile for. ever.

Paris was always the ‘destination’ for my mum and I. She had lived there, and wanted to show me the most incredible city in the world. I never got to do that with her – but this trip felt like exactly what she would have loved. I lost my beautiful mum on Remembrance day, and the train pulling into Paris from the airport was lined in bright red poppies. It felt like it was exactly where she would have wanted me to be.

And then there’s the food.

My plan was, for my weekend in Paris, to just walk every waking moment and eat everything in sight. I achieved this plan. I also stayed with a gorgeous girl through AirBNB on the Rue de Belleville who gave me directions, took me out to dinner (I only spoke French! To French people!), and ate cheese and baguette with me (even explaining the devestatingly french man eating his baguette and brie dipped in his morning coffee) She insisted that she lend me a beret and take a photo of me posing with my espresso in a cafe. The whole experience was magic.

These were some of the meals that, through butter content and taste, will remain in my heart forever.

Image
This was my first espresso and pain au chocolate. After 36 hours to get from Sydney to Paris, it was incredible. I was also terribly lost. Beautiful

Image
Emilie would leave baguette and brie (plus an envy-inspiring collection of teas) for me in the morning. She said she was going to buy an espresso machine, and then decided against it because she was above an incredible café. Amazeballs.
Image
This was just on a street corner. The cheese was so pungent that I almost didn’t/couldn’t eat it. I also hate orangina, but temporarily forgot that thinking maybe that had changed while I was in Paris. It hadn’t.
Image
It started raining, and I had been thinking of my Mum outside of Notre Dame. I run into the closest café to avoid getting wet, and a waiter comes up to me, takes me by the arm, and says (in French) ‘I’m so glad you came! I was starting to think you weren’t going to show up. I’ve got the perfect table for you’. He whisked me away to a corner. He demanded a ‘bisou’ (kiss) when I was leaving. Life falls together.
Image
Crêpes. Salami, cheese, in a park, delicious.
Image
so good. so good.
Image
Confit de canard in the Bastille
Image
Beautiful dinner company, gorgeous wine
Image
Tarte tatin (apple tarte) with crème fraîche. I was convinced to have dessert, and I am so grateful
Image
Favourite french activity: gluttony
Image
My beautiful host, bread, and wine. Bliss
Image
I can feel my bestie giving me critical eyes all over the place. I don’t care, I was touristing and this is my good side.
Image
Feel like a snack at the end of a long day of walking? Baguette and brie. Always.
Image
This shop made me feel like all my life, I was eating house insulation when I thought I was eating cheese. You can smell it before you can see it. I died and went to heaven here.
Image
Casual french hospitality – quinoa salad with veggies, balsamic vinegar, and goats cheese. So chic.
Image
This is the cheese (chevre) I tried to sneak into my carry-on luggage it was so good. Didn’t fly.
Image
Organic porc rillets. And some fancy focussing.
Image
A napoleon after the eiffel tower. Most flaky pastry of my life.
Image
The night before I had to leave, I took myself out to dinner in Monmartre. To start, I had a veggie soup and a glass of wine. Treatyoself.
Image
And steak au poivre (steak with a pepper sauce) for main.

Makes me be like

Its just too good.
Its just too good.

And some photos from my trip, in general:

With love, from Charlotte

22 thoughts on “Paris eating for at least 10 for one

    Kelsie said:
    October 10, 2013 at 12:17 am

    When I look at these photos all I can think is you are beautiful and I love you! Paris je t’aime! Viva la france!

      eating4241 responded:
      October 10, 2013 at 3:06 am

      you’re so beautiful kels xx

    Lynn Chalmers said:
    October 10, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    OMG ! what a wonderful experience, love and kisses from Lynn

      eating4241 responded:
      October 10, 2013 at 10:30 pm

      You too Lynn! It was gorgeous 🙂

    curlyhairinmoErin said:
    October 10, 2013 at 6:44 pm

    I would eat all those baguettes in a heart beat…they look DELICIOUS!

      eating4241 responded:
      October 10, 2013 at 10:23 pm

      They were! It was incredible. I wish I was back 🙂

      Thanks for checking out the blog 🙂

    judilyn said:
    October 14, 2013 at 2:16 am

    What lovely pictures! The food looks scrumptious!! Did you bring back any recipes to try on your own at home?

      eating4241 responded:
      October 14, 2013 at 10:41 pm

      Thank you! I did bring a few recipes back, and had such a great time. 🙂 Can’t wait to try out some of my Danish dishes and see whether I can get them right! 🙂 x

    TheFoodNutter said:
    October 14, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    I missed home… sniff sniff…. but I love London

      eating4241 responded:
      October 14, 2013 at 10:40 pm

      Oh have you moved from Ireland? Its so beautiful there. I’ve not been to London, but would love to go sometime! (I’ve also moved from America to Australia – I completely understand being homesick when looking at people’s photos of your home 😦 I hope you have lots of lovely people and delicious things to eat to fight homesickness!) x

    thefoodstew said:
    October 14, 2013 at 11:11 pm

    I spent a week in Paris and had similar emotions as you did! I would go back right now if I could. I am sure your mother was with you! Great Post!!

      eating4241 responded:
      October 14, 2013 at 11:15 pm

      Thank you so much! Its incredible – really sad/nostalgic looking back through the thousand or so photos I took over my summer away 🙂 Can’t help but miss it, and can’t wait to go back! Thank you so much for your kind words 🙂 x

    Food,Photography & France said:
    October 15, 2013 at 7:05 am

    Nice post. Good to have found your blog and thanks for visiting mine:)

      eating4241 responded:
      October 15, 2013 at 8:13 am

      Not a problem – its gorgeous! I love your photos – the one of the ‘storing garlic’ is just lovely. I’m trying to learn, and would love to follow your work as inspiration! Hope you have a lovely day x

    aberdeenwashington said:
    October 15, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    just got back from France… these photos take me back there and then some. I want to be in that cheese shop ASAP!

      eating4241 responded:
      October 15, 2013 at 10:44 pm

      I know! The cheese shop was heavenly – I adore everything about them. Inexpensive, accessible, delicious – cheese in Paris is amazing! x

    gingamusings said:
    October 17, 2013 at 5:28 am

    I love your photos! Such a beautiful place – brings back great memories looking at them 🙂

      eating4241 responded:
      October 17, 2013 at 5:41 am

      Oh thank you! I loved every minute of it – can’t wait to go back! (And get better using my camera – a work in progress 🙂 ) Thanks for the lovely comment x

    Food from Michelle's kitchen said:
    October 18, 2013 at 12:13 am

    What fun going to Paris… I’m jealous! My best friend is living over there and I’m hoping to visit next year. Love the beret.

      eating4241 responded:
      October 20, 2013 at 8:38 pm

      Thanks! I loved Paris – I needed more time there!! You should definitely go if you can. It was amazing. And if you love food – you’ll just explode of happiness 🙂

      Thanks for checking out my blog, and for your lovely comment 🙂 x

    afracooking said:
    October 20, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    I was in Paris only a few weeks back and your pics took me straight back – yum!!!

      eating4241 responded:
      October 20, 2013 at 8:52 pm

      Thank you so much! It takes me back, looking at these pictures and remembering the food… bliss! Thank you for your gorgeous comment x

Leave a comment